All systems go as teams confirmed for BPL07

All systems go as teams confirmed for BPL07

The Bowls Premier League (BPL) is set to return bigger and better in 2018 for its seventh instalment across the television screens of Australia and New Zealand.

From April 23 to 26, the eight BPL licensed teams will descend on the Naenae Bowling Club in Lower Hutt, New Zealand and battle it out for the $100,000 prize pool. 

Each night of the tournament will be broadcast LIVE both in Australia and New Zealand via Fox Sports Australia and Sky Sport NZ respectively.

Viewers in Australia can tune in from 4pm-9pm AEST, while those across the ditch will see all the broadcast action from 6pm-11pm NZST. 

Bowls Australia will also be providing Rinkside Live live-streaming of the preliminary day-time rounds through its Facebook page

There has been some movement in the playing circles, headlined by Australian Jackaroo Aron Sherriff moving up to the Gold Coast Hawks from three-time winners the Sydney Lions.

Sherriff will be joined by Australian and Helensvale teammate Nathan Rice, who has made the move from coach to player, with stalwart Mark Casey set to take the reigns as coach. 

Three new additions will make their BPL debut in the seventh staging of the event, with the Brisbane Pirates selected Club Pine Rivers’ former-state lead Michael Breen, the New Zealand Blackjacks opting for Commonwealth Games competitor Mike Nagy, and the Perth Suns presenting Helen Morss with her first guernsey.

Elsewhere, Clive Adams has returned to BPL action with Perth Suns after missing the past four seasons, Ben Twist has strengthened the Sydney Lions after missing the last competition on international duties, and Barry Brennan has re-joined the Murray Streamers as Coach.

BPL07 will prove a testy turnaround for the several athletes competing in the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast, with the event being held a little over a week after the final day of the Games.

Entry into Naenae Bowling Club for the preliminary daytime matches and broadcasted night-time games is free of charge for all four days of the action.

Full team selections for BPL07 can be found below:

Moreton Bay Brisbane Pirates: Kelsey Cottrell, Alex Marshall, Michael Breen, Dave Edwards (Coach)
Club Helensvale Gold Coast Hawks: Aron Sherriff, Nathan Rice, Lynsey Clarke, Mark Casey (Coach)
Silkari Illawarra Gorillas: Jeremy Henry, Aaron Teys, Kay Moran, Wes Falconer (Coach)
Blundstone Melbourne Roys: Aaron Wilson, Barrie Lester, Carla Krizanic, Ian Ewing (Coach)
Moama Murray Steamers: Michael Walker, Ryan Bester, Ellen Ryan, Barry Brennan (Coach)
Tower New Zealand Blackjacks: Shannon McIlroy, Jo Edwards, Mike Nagy, Sharon Sims (Coach)
Dyenamic Perth Suns: John Slavich, Clive Adams, Helen Morss, Therese Hastings (Coach)
BCiB Sydney Lions: Ben Twist, Corey Wedlock, Karen Murphy, Steve Glasson (Coach)

March 9, 2018 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *