Australian champions to clash in the Top End

Australian champions to clash in the Top End

Bowls champions from each and every state and territory will descend on Darwin this week for the ultimate test to determine the nation’s most consistent men’s and women’s singles player.

The Australian Champion of Champions, which will be contested at Darwin Bowls and Social Club from Wednesday to Friday, will feature 15 proven champions, who have progressed through various levels, including club, district, zone and state, for a chance to secure a coveted national title.

Each state and territory will be represented in the men’s and women’s event, with the exception of Tasmania’s women’s competitor, which has resulted in a fixtured bye during the round robin competition.

Seven rounds will be staged across the three days, with three matches scheduled for the opening day of the event on Wednesday from 9.00am.

The men’s field is the strongest in recent memory, with almost any player capable of securing the silverware, including Australian Jackaroos teammates Barrie Lester and Wayne Ruediger, former one-time Jackaroo Lee Schraner, former BPL Perth Suns ace Clive Adams, Queensland veteran Kurt Brown, dual Commonwealth Youth Games gold medallist Jono Davis, ACT hopeful Breeze Howard and local product Trystan Smallacombe.

Similarly, the women’s event is also strong, headlined by former Australian player Beth Quinlan, South Australian representative Cassandra Harvey, Queensland representative Cassandra Millerick and Darwin’s own Colleen Orr.

The event boasts added impetus, more than just a chance at a national title, with the men’s and women’s champions afforded entry into next year’s World Champion of Champions event, which is set to be staged at NSW’s St Johns Park Bowls Club.

Bowls Australia will be live streaming selected feature matches on its Facebook page,, during the tournament.

Click here to view the program and schedule of play.

ACT: Breeze Howard (Yass) and Chloe Morrison (Tuggeranong Valley)
NSW: Jono Davis (Mount Lewis) and Beth Quinlan (St Johns Park)
NT: Trystan Smallacombe (Darwin) and Colleen Orr (Darwin)
QLD: Kurt Brown (Kawana) and Cassandra Millerick (Caloundra)
SA: Wayne Ruediger (Grange) and Cassandra Harvey (Adelaide)
TAS: Lee Schraner (Rosny Park)
VIC: Barrie Lester (Mulgrave Country) Jess Wallace (Lilydale) 
WA: Clive Adams (Cambridge) and Pauline Bourne (Sorrento)

Caption: Australian teammates Wayne Ruediger and Barrie Lester won’t let their friendship get in the way of a chance at a world title.

October 9, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *