Changes set High-Performance Program on new course

Changes set High-Performance Program on new course

Bowls Australia has today unveiled a remodelled High-Performance Program structure, in a concerted effort to improve the program’s effectiveness and ensure future international success.

Following an independent review of the HP program, aimed at enhancing the delivery of services and resources to the sport’s elite and ensuring a clear and transparent future pathway system is in place, Bowls Australia has implemented a number of significant changes, including the formalisation of two new squads.

In line with one of the review’s key recommendations of reducing the number of athletes supported by the HP Program, to ensure principal focus is on players most likely to represent Australia in the near future whilst still maintaining a vision to longer term success, the Australian Junior Jackaroos Squad has been made obsolete, while the National Training Centre Squad has been consolidated into a new Australian Emerging Jackaroos Squad.

The Australian Junior Jackaroos Squad, which was made up of under-18 players, has been discontinued in favour of a new ideology of making those junior players eligible for selection in either of the other two higher calibre squads.

Opportunities will still exist for some under-18 players to be selected from the Australian Under-18 Championships to represent the nation in the annual Trans-Tasman Development team. 

The National Training Centre Squad, which was a state-based development squad overseen by the National Coach, has transitioned into a true second-tier national reserves team, aptly named the Australian Emerging Jackaroos Squad, which will serve as the feeder team for the top-tiered Australian Jackaroos.

In preparation for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games, a new Australian Parasport Squad has also been formed, with 11 players and four vision-impaired directors bestowed with representation.

A total of 10 gold medals will be up for grabs in the bowls event at GC2018, including two in the Parasport component, which is made up of bowlers with disability open triples and vision-impaired mixed pairs disciplines.

The Australian Jackaroos Squad features 20 players from across the country, with the four players that bolstered the team for last month’s 2017 Gold Coast Multi-Nations event, Aaron Teys, Nathan Rice, Chloe Stewart and Bolivia Millerick, named to retain their coveted positions for the next 12 months.

Bowls Australia’s National Coach Steve Glasson OAM said that the reduction of squad personnel was a difficult decision despite the advised benefits of the restructure, and measures are being put in place to continue nurturing the affected players.

“The reduction in squad numbers was a very difficult decision, because from a personal point of view, you want to be able to support and develop as many up-and-coming players as possible, but the recommendations of the report were very clear that this was the best course of action to underpin future success,” Glasson said.

“It’s important to note that this independent review was a thorough process that took more than 12 months to complete, with the ultimate aim of ensuring Australia remains a dominant performer on the international arena.

“Bowls Australia and the State and Territory Associations have scheduled meetings to discuss where to from here for those players unsuccessful at this time, but rest assured that every effort is being made by all parties to ensure there is an underpinning program whereby coaching and services will remain in place for those not included in these squads.” 

Bowls Australia congratulates the athletes entrusted with representation in the Australian Jackaroos, Australian Parasport and Australian Emerging Jackaroos squads.

All three Squads will be reviewed annually.

Australian Jackaroos Squad:
Karen Murphy (Cabramatta, NSW), Ray Pearse (Cabramatta, NSW), Ellen Ryan (Cabramatta, NSW), Natasha Scott (Raymond Terrace, NSW), Aron Sherriff (Ettalong Memorial, NSW), Aaron Teys (Warilla, NSW), Corey Wedlock (Cabramatta, NSW), Aaron Wilson (Cabramatta, NSW), Lynsey Clarke (Club Helensvale, QLD), Kelsey Cottrell (St Johns Park, NSW), Bolivia Millerick (Broadbeach, QLD), Nathan Rice (Club Helensvale, QLD), Chloe Stewart (Broadbeach, QLD), Brett Wilkie (Club Helensvale, QLD), Wayne Ruediger (Grange, SA), Scott Thulborn (Adelaide, SA), Rebecca Van Asch (Invermay, TAS), Carla Krizanic (Sunbury, VIC), Barrie Lester (Mulgrave Country Club, VIC), Kristina Krstic (Manning Memorial, WA).

Australian Parasport Squad:
Josh Barry (Sebastopol, VIC), Tony Bonnell (Club Pine Rivers, QLD), Jake Fehlberg (Burleigh Heads, QLD. Director: Grant Fehlberg), Chris Flavel (Payneham, SA), Eddie Golan (Kardinya, WA), Ken Hanson (City Bowls Club Colac, VIC), Marian Morrison (Aspley Memorial, QLD. Director: Beatrice Kassulke), James Reynolds (Merimbula, NSW), Lynne Seymour (Thuringowa, QLD. Director: Robert Seymour), Ralph Simpson (Sea Lake, VIC. Director: Jennifer Simpson), Josh Thornton (East Shepparton, VIC).

Australian Emerging Jackaroos Squad:
Jonathon Davis (Mount Lewis, NSW), Dawn Hayman (St Johns Park, NSW), Billy Johnson (Cabramatta, NSW), Jesse Noronha (Warilla, NSW), Natalie Noronha (Engadine, NSW), Samantha Noronha (Engadine, NSW), Ben Twist (St Johns Park, NSW), Jamie-Lee Worsnop (St Johns Park, NSW), Jayden Christie (Club Helensvale, QLD), Sean Ingham (Broadbeach, QLD), Jessica Srisamruaybai (Tweed Heads, QLD), Georgia White (Club Helensvale, QLD), Sam White (Paradise Point, QLD), Nathan Pedersen (Modbury, SA), Lachlan Sims (Trevallyn, TAS), Tiffany Brodie (Clayton, VIC), Curtis Hanley (Melbourne, VIC), Dane McKinnon (Altona, VIC)

July 26, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *