Hall of Fame nominations now open!

Hall of Fame nominations now open!

Bowls Australia have today launched nominations for the Bowls Australia Hall of Fame, with up to four individuals to join 46 of the most revered names in the sport as Hall of Famers.

The Bowls Australia Hall of Fame was launched in 2011, with an initial intake of 38 Hall of Fame members, including some of the biggest names in the sport, split into “Athlete” and “General” (for administration and other non-playing achievements).

Each subsequent Hall of Fame intake has featured four new Hall of Fame members, including the most recent process in 2015 which saw Audrey Hefford (SA), Dorothy Roche OAM (NSW), Bob King (NSW) and Donald Woolnough OAM (VIC) inducted into the esteemed group.

A select committee of bowls administrators, chaired by Bowls Australia President Nigel Smith and featuring two current Hall of Fame members, will assess all nominations and select up to four new inductees, with Smith noting the importance of the process.

“The Hall of Fame is one of the very highest honours the sport can bestow upon an individual, and as such the Bowls Australia Board is conscious that the nomination process is as thorough and professional as possible.” said Smith.

“I would encourage clubs and administrators around Australia to give thought to individuals you feel have made significant contributions to the sport as athletes or administrators at a national or international level, and submit a nomination for these individuals for the committee to consider.”

Induction into the Hall of Fame is governed by Bowls Australia and is open to those with a record of outstanding and exceptional performance, service or contribution to Bowls Australia and the sport of bowls over a significant period of time.

Nominations can be submitted by any affiliated member of a bowls club in Australia via the following forms:

Download the Athlete Nomination form here

Download the General Nomination form here

Nominations for the Hall of Fame close on July 31, 2017, with the selected nominees being formally inducted at the Bowls Australia Hall of Fame and Awards Night ceremony on October 26, 2017.

Click here to learn more about the Hall of Fame and view all current inductees

Caption: Dorothy Roche OAM receives her commemorative Hall of Fame plate as one of four inductees in 2015

April 24, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *