International selections for Trans Tasman and Multi-Nations

International selections for Trans Tasman and Multi-Nations

Bowls Australia’s national selection panel has today confirmed the athletes entrusted with international duties at two important lead-in events to next year’s Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The contingent to compete at the upcoming 2017 Trans Tasman, from May 31 to June 2, and the 2017 Gold Coast Multi-Nations, from June 3 to 7, include a mix of Australian Jackaroos squad players, individuals from within the second-tier National Training Centre program earmarked for future success, as well as para-sport competitors.

The annual Trans Tasman will feature 12 Jackaroos within the Senior men’s and women’s teams, including nine members of last year’s acclaimed World Bowls Championships team, in addition to Australian Captain Lynsey Clarke, 2012 world champion Wayne Ruediger and his South Australian compatriot Scott Thulborn, the reigning world champion of champion titleholder.

The nine members of Australia’s most successful World Bowls Championships abroad include Kelsey Cottrell, Carla Krizanic, Karen Murphy, Rebecca Van Asch, Barrie Lester, Aron Sherriff, Brett Wilkie and Aaron Wilson, with Mark Casey the only notable omission due to his international retirement.

The Development teams, which feature a mix of open-age and under-18 players, have also been named, with aspiring internationals Kristina Krstic, Ellen Ryan, Bolivia Millerick, Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock and Nathan Pedersen chosen to bolster the already named junior selections.

Selectors will be provided a chance to cast an eye over a broader list of players at the official GOLDOC run 2017 Gold Coast Multi-Nations event, with two full able-bodied teams chosen to compete, in addition to the already named para-sport players.

Australia will boast two teams in each gender’s event, aptly named Green and Gold teams, with Ray Pearse, Nathan Rice and Chloe Stewart given the opportunity to impress selectors, in addition to all of the Senior and Development Trans Tasman identified players. 

Two promising young prospects, Aaron Teys and Bolivia Millerick, will officially earn their first international caps for Australia when they line-up in the Multi-Nations event, given they are part of the uncapped Development component of the Trans Tasman.

Millerick will be presented with cap number 85, as the 85th Australian women’s representative, while Teys will be bestowed with men’s cap number 145, when they face their baptism by fire at the seven-nation competition.

In addition to the two Australian teams, Scotland, New Zealand, Malaysia, Hong Kong China, Wales and Canada will compete in the Multi-Nations international.

Click here to read the announcement of the under-18 players chosen for the Trans Tasman development team and para-sport athletes selected for the 2017 Gold Coast Multi-Nations event.

Bowls Australia congratulates the selected players and acknowledges the assistance and funding provided by Commonwealth Games Australia to Bowls Australia for athletes in the NextGEN AUSComGames Squad program.

NextGEN AUSComGames was devised to provide assistance to junior players who have been identified as potential 2018 or 2022 Commonwealth Games level athletes.

2017 Trans Tasman – Broadbeach, May 31 to June 2
Senior Teams:

Lynsey Clarke (Club Helensvale, QLD)     
Kelsey Cottrell (St Johns Park, NSW)
Carla Krizanic (Sunbury, VIC)
Karen Murphy (Cabramatta, NSW)
Natasha Scott (Raymond Terrace, NSW)
Rebecca Van Asch (Invermay, TAS)

Barrie Lester (Mulgrave Country Club, VIC)
Wayne Ruediger (Grange, SA)
Aron Sherriff (Ettalong Memorial, NSW)
Scott Thulborn (Adelaide, SA)
Brett Wilkie (Club Helensvale, QLD)
Aaron Wilson (Cabramatta, NSW)

Development Teams:
Kristina Krstic (Manning Memorial, WA)
Kate Matthews
Bolivia Millerick
Ellen Ryan 
Jessica Srisamruaybai 

Jonathon Davis (Mount Lewis, NSW)
Nathan Pedersen
Lachlan Sims
Aaron Teys (Warilla, NSW)
Corey Wedlock (Cabramatta, NSW) 

2017 Gold Coast Multi-Nations – Broadbeach, June 3 to 7
Gold Teams:

Lynsey Clarke
Kelsey Cottrell
Bolivia Millerick (Broadbeach, QLD)
Karen Murphy 
Ellen Ryan

Ray Pearse (Cabramatta, NSW)
Aaron Teys
Scott Thulborn
Brett Wilkie
Aaron Wilson

Green Teams:
Carla Krizanic
Kristina Krstic
Natasha Scott
Chloe Stewart (Broadbeach, QLD)
Rebecca Van Asch

Barrie Lester
Nathan Rice (Club Helensvale, QLD)
Wayne Ruediger
Aron Sherriff
Corey Wedlock

May 2, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *