Queensland’s women win 2017 Yorke Peninsula Senior Sides Championships

Queensland’s women win 2017 Yorke Peninsula Senior Sides Championships

Queensland are the 2017 Yorke Peninsula Australian Senior Sides women’s champions after holding off Victoria by two shots in a tense finish.

On the final day of play at Wollaroo Bowling Club, the race for the women’s honours was between Queensland and Western Australia, sitting in first and second place respectively. After the Sandgroppers defeated the Australian Capital Territory comprehensively by 49 shots, a scenario was presented that required the Kookaburras to win its match-up with Victoria to take home the title. 

In the “Rinkside Live” match of the round Gayle Edwards of Victoria defeated Queensland star Christina Pavlov by just two shots.

That match can be relived on Bowls Australia’s Facebook page here.

With Queenland holding the overall lead 48-45 it all came down to the last bowl of the final team left in play with Victorian skip Mary Tragardh needing to drag the jack backwards convert a three shot play and to tie the encounter for a WA win. The crowd watched on in anticipation as Tragardh’s lined up on the mat and the delivered the drive that narrowly missed the target, handing the overall victory and women’s championship to the Kookaburras.

In other results New South Wales finished their campaign on a positive note by narrowly accounting for South Australia by four shots, Tasmania was too good for the Northern Territory in a 67-45 result and tournament runners-up Western Australia thumped the ACT by 49 shots.

After clinching the men’s championship yesterday, host state South Australia finished undefeated with a 6-0-1 record thanks to a 55-46 triumph over NSW.

Victoria were named the runners-up in a tight 59-53 effort over the Queenslanders. Living legend Rex Johnston OAM claimed the best preformed skip crown in a untarnished endeavour. It all came down to the last bowl, as the living legend himself trailed by two at the head before drawing for shot and taking out a one shot victory over South Australia’s Colin Harvey.

Gary Caffell and Robert Ball steered WA to a 21-shot achievement against the ACT, while Tasmania knocked off the NT in 16 shots. 

Bowls Australia thanks the District of Barunga West, the Yorke Peninsula Council and the Copper Coast Council for their outstanding support in hosting the 2017 Yorke Peninsula Australian Senior Sides Championships.

Round seven men’s results:
Western Australia def Australian Capital Territory 62-41
Caffell def Deeves 26-6, Ball def Brookman 22-19, O’Neill lost to Taylor 10-22

South Austrlaia def New South Wales 55-46

Harvey lost to Johnston 15-16, Holtham lost Lambourne 17-20, Gageler def Stone 23-10

Tasmania def Northern Territory 64-48

Docking lost to Farrell 13-28, Allford def Fair 26-13, Monson def Parsonson 25-7

Victoria def Queensland 55-53 

Donaldson def Broadbent 25-9, Ross lost to Jenkins 13-23, Jansen tied with Maskell 21-21

Round seven women’s results:
Western Australia def Australian Capital Territory 84-35
Abe def Clout 37-6, Poletti def Bannerman 21-17, Baker def Gillespie 26-12

New South Wales def South Austrlaia def  53-49

Glen def Caulfield 28-9, Qunilan def Richards 16-15, Smith lost to Treloar 9-25

Tasmania def Northern Territory 67-45

Saunders def Bielek 25-16, Guy def Tyrell 22-14, Monson def Garner 20-15

Queensland def Victoria 48-46
Ryan lost to Miles 15-16, Witton def Tragardh 19-14, Pavlov lost to Edwards 14-16

Click here to view the complete results from the 2017 Yorke Peninsula Australian Senior Sides Championships

October 19, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *