SA upstage Alley Shield titleholders

SA upstage Alley Shield titleholders

South Australia have produced a stunning victory against the defending Victorian men’s champions in the opening round of the Australian Sides Championships in Adelaide, while the five-time women’s winners, NSW, were held to account by Western Australia.

The Croweaters commenced their Alley Shield campaign with bang in the men’s competition, with stellar 6 shot victory over the titleholders across the three rinks contested, with Max Kleinig’s 23-16 win against Aaron Wilson the catalysed for the overall victory, given Wayne Rueidger’s rink couldn’t be split against Matthew Flapper’s and Scott Thulborn’s team was upstaged by one shot to Barrie Lester’s quartet.

Despite coming very close to glory two years ago, the South Australia contingent last won the silver in 1988 and will be eager to continue their performance on their home turf.

In the women’s Mark Morris Trophy contest, the five-time reigning NSW champion team suffered a blow to their historic silverware hunt by Western Australia, but salvaged some hope with a draw.

The Sandgropers continued their scintillating progression on the national stage over the past few years, splitting the cumulative master scoreboard honours 57-all.

The Blues recorded two rink victories, with Kelsey Cottrell’s team prevailing by four shots and Natasha Scott’s by one, while Western Australia’s Helen Morss’ five shot victory meant the points were halved.

Queensland headlines the women’s event after an 81 shot win over Northern Territory, while Tasmania top the men’s ladder after a 25 shot victory against the ACT.

Full results can be found below.

The men’s Alley Shield ladder can be viewed here.

The women’s Marj Morris Trophy ladder can be seen here.

Men’s Alley Shield results:
NT lost to QLD 50-66:

Kitto def Baker 22-14
Smallacombe lost to Brown 13-24
Maher lost to Rice 15-28

TAS def ACT 71-46:
Schraner def Thomas 22-21
Sims def McLean 25-15
Nitz def Whybrow 24-10

SA def VIC 61-55:
Ruediger drew Flapper 20-20
Thulborn lost to Lester 18-19
Kleinig def A. Wilson 23-16

NSW def WA 64-57:
Turley def Harris 22-19
Ferguson def Mitchell 23-16
Sherriff lost to Slavich 19-22

Women’s Marj Morris Trophy results:
NT lost to QLD 30-111:

Chandler lost to Keegan 14-34
Richards lost to Millerick 8-33
Kitto lost to Clarke 8-44

TAS lost to ACT 48-62:
Hodgetts def Harmer 20-19
Triffitt lost to Moore 14-21
Van Asch lost to Bacchetto 14-22

SA lost to VIC 51-75:
Callisto lost to Krizanic 18-24
Wright lost to Brodie 10-26
Johnson lost to Edwards 23-25

NSW drew WA 57-57:
Cottrell def Featherby 23-19
Scott def Krstic 17-16
Murphy lost to Morss 17-22

April 6, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *