South Australia in the box seat for the Robert Middleton Trophy

South Australia in the box seat for the Robert Middleton Trophy

South Australia are in strong contention for the Australian Under-18 Championships’ Robert Middleton Trophy for the best overall state after winning through to four gold-medal playoffs.

The Croweaters will feature heavily on the biggest stage in junior bowls, following solid performances throughout the championships in most disciplines. This afternoon, the Girls’ Pairs outfit of Grace Moloney and Stephanie Clarke defeated Tasmania’s Lauren Banks and Jorja Maughan by six shots to move into the championship match, while the quartet of Dylan Lewis, Michael Davies, Jack Trenorden and Jayden Zeller also progressed, albeit on shot differential despite losing their last sectional fixture by two shots.

Victoria displayed an awe-inspiring performance by sweeping their session three series against Queensland across all disciplines to advance into two more gold medal finals.

The trio of Sophie Kurzman, Emma Simmonds and Kira Bourke were one of the teams to qualify for the Girls Triples decider as they eliminated Queensland from the playoff race by nine-shots in the “Rinkside Live” live-stream; you can watch that match on demand via this via this link. The Big V will also content the Boys Fours final against South Australia, after Tyson Cromie, Ethan Higgins, Lachlan Morison and Cooper Wescombe also accounted for Queensland by a margin of 10 shots.

Tasmaina, Big V’s Girls Triples opponent in the final, will be the have a sole representative from the Apple Isle duelling it out for the gold after its team of Logyn Curtis, Casey Cornish and Ebony White defeated South Australia by 11 shots.

Western Australia’s Kaleb Walding made the coveted Boys Singles final after defeating the Northern Territory’s John Davies 21-7, with previous sectional leader Nick Cahill (Queensland) going down to Victorian Jarryd Davies in the last round. He will compete against New South Wales ace Jono Davis, who also won his last sectional encounter against ACT.

Queensland’s Rebecca Rixon and Jessie Cottell made the Girls Pairs final with a six shot success over Victoria in the final round, where they take on South Australia’s Moloney and Clarke.

The race for the Robert Middleton Overall Trophy looks down to three states, with South Australia, Victoria and Queensland all with big opportunities to claim the trophy for the best overall states depending on results tomorrow.

The Australian Under-18 Championships will conclude tomorrow, with two finals rounds across the 8 disciplines.

Day Three, Session Three Results:

VIC vs QLD (Section 1)

Boys’ Singles: VIC def QLD 21-13
Boys’ Fours: VIC def QLD 19-9
Girls’ Pairs: VIC def QLD 17-15
Girls’ Triples: VIC def QLD 23-14

WA vs NT (Section 1)
Boys’ Singles: WA def NT 21-7

SA vs TAS (Section 2)
Boys’ Singles: SA def TAS 21-10
Boys’ Fours: TAS def SA 16-14
Girls’ Pairs: SA def TAS 21-15
Girls’ Triples: TAS def SA 22-11

NSW vs ACT (Section 2)
Boys’ Singles: NSW def ACT 21-5
Boys’ Fours: NSW def ACT 24-8

Finals Schedule (11:15am, tomorrow Monday October 2)

Boys’ Singles
Gold Medal playoff: WA (K Walding) vs NSW (J Davis)
Bronze Medal playoff: VIC (Jarryd Davies) vs SA (J Studham)
5th/6th playoff: QLD (N Cahill) vs TAS (J Walker-Davis)
7th/8th playoff: NT (John Davies) vs ACT (L O’Shaughnessy)

Boys’ Fours
Gold Medal playoff: VIC (T Cromie, E Higgins, L Morison, C Wescombe) vs SA (D Lewis, M Davies, J Trenorden, J Zeller)
Bronze Medal playoff: QLD (K Nelson, S White, J Rynne, I Conlan) vs TAS (K Daly, I Maughan, P Oldham, L Sims)
5th/6th playoff: WA (C Day, J East, M Simpson, P Quinlan) vs NSW (T Peters, Z Corr-Johnson, L Freeman, J Debbie)

Girls’ Pairs
Gold Medal playoff: QLD (R Rixon, J Cottell) vs SA (G Moloney, S Clarke)
Bronze Medal playoff: VIC (L Trewarne, M Long) vs TAS (L Banks, J Maughan)
5th/6th playoff: WA/NT (L Kingsley, G Cant) vs NSW (B Smith, L Cronan)

Girls’ Triples
Gold Medal playoff: VIC (S Kurzman, E Simmonds, K Bourke) vs TAS (L Curtis, C Cornish, E White)
Bronze Medal playoff: QLD (I Lawson, S Wilson, J Srisamruaybai) vs SA (A Walker, K Williams, B Rafferty)
5th/6th playoff: WA/NT (O Rothwell, K Zavazal, K Ainsworth) vs NSW (B Camp, H McDonnell, K Matthews)

Click here to view the 2017 Australian Under-18 Championships’ event page, which features the event program, conditions of play and links to the results portal

Click here to view the singles ladders

Click here to view the pairs ladders

Click here to view the triples ladders

Click here to view the fours ladders

October 1, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *