Stars fall at Tweed Heads

Stars fall at Tweed Heads

The stars have continued to fall at the Australian Indoor Championships, with two of the sport’s biggest names plummeting on the second day of the competition.

Six-time winner Karen Murphy and Australian Captain Lynsey Clarke both found themselves on the wrong side of the ledger in this morning’s second rubber at the Tweed Heads event, and as a result, have opened up the draw considerably.

Murphy, who last claimed the silverware in 2013, was upstaged by Canadian representative Kelly McKerihen by a slender shot on the last end of a tie-break after splitting the first two sets.

On the adjacent rink, Clarke, herself a runner-up in 2015, also came unstuck on a tie-break shootout, to Yarraville Footscray’s Sara Rodger.

Fellow Australian stalwart, and runner-up of last year’s event, Rebecca Van Asch became the first women through to the bottom have of draw’s quarter-final stages with a straight-sets win over Club Pine Rivers’ Linda Morish.

In the men’s event, a blockbuster encounter has been booked between 2015 Australian Open men’s singles champion Aaron Teys and dual Bowls Premier League champion Ben Twist, after both escaped the second rubber stage.

That tantalising encounter is scheduled for 12pm, and will be featured on Rinkside Live via Bowls Australia’s Facebook page. 

Blackburn’s Neville Brown is the first man through to the other side of the draw’s quarter-finals.

Click here to view the Australian Indoor Championships event page.

Round two, session two results:
Kelly McKerihen (Clayton) def Karen Murphy (Cabramatta) 9-7, 5-6, 3-2
Sara Rodger (Yarraville Footscray) def Lynsey Clarke (Club Helensvale) 8-3, 5-8, 3-2
Rebecca Van Asch (Invermay) def Linda Morish (Club Pine Rivers) 6-6, 10-5
Aaron Teys (Warilla) def Steve Halmai (South Tweed) 10-3, 6-4
Ben Twist (St Johns Park) def Nathan Dawson (Kurri Kurri) 10-2, 6-7, 4-2
Neville Brown (Blackburn) def Darren Warner (ETSA) 7-5, 10-5

August 29, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *