The return of the national titles

The return of the national titles

The 2017 Australian Championships returns to the national calendar next week, featuring the best players from across the nation, converging on the idyllic greens of Merimbula’s Club Sapphire.

In a true showdown of strength, all eight State and Territory Association winners in the disciplines of singles, pairs, triples and fours will playoff for the ultimate glory of being crowned the national champions.

The event returns to the calendar after a 12-year hiatus, having last been played at Harbord, NSW in 2004, and will be staged from Tuesday, November 28 to Friday, December 1.

Australian Jackaroos squad member and 2017 Cruiseabout Male Bowler of the Year Barrie Lester (Mulgrave Country Club, VIC) will be looking to extend his recent streak of among a start-studded Men’s Singles contingent. 

Lester will be joined by fellow Jackaroos teammates Aron Sheriff (Ettalong, NSW) and Nathan Rice (Club Helensvale, QLD), in what will be a vital hit-out ahead of the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

The Women’s Singles features the recently crowned 2017 Australian Champion of Champions Singles title-holder Colleen Orr (Darwin, NT) and the 2016 Australian Indoor Singles winner Natasha Scott (Raymond Terrace, NSW).

Scott will also be contesting the Women’s Pairs with Genevieve Delves (Raymond Terrace, NSW), while Jackaroo Lynsey Clarke and her Club Helensvale teammate Natasha Jones will be looking to bring the silverware back to Queensland. 

In the men’s side of the draw, Glenroy’s young duo of John McCarron and Ben Hubber will have their eyes set on continuing their hot streak of form that saw them capture the Victorian title earlier this year.

Canadian international representative Ryan Bester will be skipping the Queensland qualified team of Sean Ingham and Kevin Anderson from Broadbeach in the Men’s Triples, while rising under-18 star Jessica Srisamruaybai will step up to the big stage as she combines with Ann-Marie Peart and Melissa Larcombe (Tweed Heads, QLD).

The Men’s Fours brings plenty of experience with Jackaroos Brett Wilkie and Nathan Rice being joined by Des Cann Jnr and Matthew Lucas (Club Helensvale, QLD), while the stellar composite quartet of Chloe Stewart, Lynsey Clarke (Club Helensvale), Natasha Jones and Julie Keegan (Broadbeach) will be representing Queensland.

Bowls Australia will live-stream a number of preliminary and final matches through the four days of competition, via our Rinkside Live initiative on Facebook.

The 2017 Australian Championships are proudly supported by Club Sapphire and Sapphire Coast Tourism.

To view the 2017 Australian Championships program book, featuring the full playing list and schedule, visit

For more information on the region and the event, visit

November 24, 2017 / by / in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *