Triple treat for Australian under-25s

Triple treat for Australian under-25s

Australia has enjoyed a clean sweep on the final day of the World Youth Championships at Broadbeach stunningly claiming all three gold medals contested today.

The week-long international under-25 event came to a head today, with the final of the mixed pairs and blue-ribbon women’s and men’s singles staged over the course of the day.

NSW young-gun duo Ellen Ryan and Aaron Teys kick started Australia’s final push for glory, with a comprehensive 20-5 victory over composite team Shae Wilson (Norfolk Island) and Ryan Burnett (Scotland), to earn the nation’s first golden medallion of 2018.

Western Australian star Kristina Krstic secured her second World Youth Championships singles title in the space of four years, with a stunning victory over New Zealand’s Commonwealth Games-bound Blackjack Kaitlyn Inch.

Krstic last secured the sport’s only under-25 international singles title, alongside the mixed pairs silverware, in 2015.

She toppled the Kiwi international 21-13 in today’s ultimate decider, claiming Australia’s second gold medal from the event.

Teys, who is unquestionably in sublime form, certainly wasn’t content with walking away with just one international title from the annual competition.

Not one to rest on his laurels, Teys followed up his morning performance, making light work of Wales’ Ross Owen, 21-12, to earn a treble of titles for the host nation.

Bowls Australia congratulate Kristina Krstic, Ellen Ryan and Aaron Teys on their victories, and applaud the whole contingent that contested the event, including Chloe Stewart, Corey Wedlock and coach Therese Hastings.

Men’s singles:
Final: Aaron Teys (Australia) bt Ross Owen (Wales) 21-12

Women’s singles:
Final: Kristina Krstic (Australia) bt Katelyn Inch (New Zealand) 21-13

Mixed pairs:
Final: Ellen Ryan, Aaron Teys (Australia) bt Shae Wilson (Norfolk Island), Ryan Burnett (Scotland) 20-5.

Caption: Australia’s successful under-25 contingent, including Coach Therese Hastings, Chloe Stewart, Kristina Krstic, Aaron Teys, Ellen Ryan, Corey Wedlock and President Darryl Clout.

March 2, 2018 / 1 Comment / by / in

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *